Saturday, January 23, 2010

The Right to Free Speech

Don't you just hate it when others try to voice out their opinions just to tell the world that that's what they think? If they're so damn blunt, why don't they just confront the people they have problems with? Why don't they just accept that everyone has an opinion of their own and their's matters just equally with everyone else's?

Some people think that their way is the right way and they want to embarrass others by telling the people around them that that particular person's thoughts aren't the 'right' ones. Lemme ask you, what is the right way?

The answer is: There is no right way. There is only your way and my way. Maybe that's how others were raised and how others weren't raised. A simple correction may be given, if circumstances demand it. Or, you may share your opinion politely, instead of letting others hear it when you're talking about it to someone else.

If you have any violent reactions or comments about this post, please leave a comment. :)

Sunday, November 22, 2009

High School VS. College

This is just the point in my High School Life where I'm sick of High School.

I'm not sure if it's normal, but I just wanna get it over with. Yea, sure, it's been fun, and all. But High School is just so---Four years ago. All my older siblings tell me to enjoy it, 'cause it's one of the best and most memorable years in  one's life. Well I say, I'm tired of it. Seeing the same people walking through the corridors every morning, waiting in line at the Cafeteria that serves the same food every week, knowing what happened yesterday and what will happen tomorrow. Familiarity sucks!

Shouldn't everyday be an adventure? Unlike High School, College is much more laid-back. You don't need to think of dressing to impress, getting into trouble at class, escaping from the security guards just to go out of the campus, no, all you need to do is get through a few hours of class, go to your home to your apartment, condo or dorm, cook a meal and that's it for the day. Oh, I think I missed one thing, in College, you have to think of what to do next. That's right, it's your decision. Although I haven't been in College yet, I could already picture it. High School is just too over-used and cliche; It's just too much drama for me. 

I know it's too Shane Dawson (from YouTube), but...leave me a comment telling me whether High School or College is better for you, and tell me why.

Movie Theater Etiquette

Honestly, some people just need to practice proper manners, especially in public!

I just watch the much-awaited for New Moon yesterday. It was very much entertaining, compared to the first installation Twilight. Though, my time in the theater was ruined because of the rude people who sat behind me. Guess what they were doing...

They were putting their feet up on my chair! One more thing that annoys me so is that they were kicking my seat and making comments, loudly, may I add. What bothers me more was the fact that not only boys were doing, but also the girls. Aren't girls supposed to act with refinement and poise? 

I guess the people behind me read the book, because they were saying what was going to happen. At times of climax, I didn't get surprised anymore because I heard them saying to each other what was going to happen. I wanted to cause a scene, but that wouldn't make me any better than them. I would much rather be the better person in the story.

This isn't the first time I had this situation. It happened before, but only at that time, me and my friends were the rude ones. Of course, teenagers will be teenagers, especially with their friends. It so happens that we had angered a son and his American dad while watching National Treasure 2. The dad stood up and said "Would you keep Quiet! We're trying to watch a movie!" My friend told me through text "Hannah, that man makes me want to cry." I laughed, of course. 

I guess we should all just respect each other when watching a movie. Let's face it, we don't own the place!